Skip to main content

Electronic Engineering PhD

Search Royal Holloway

Electronic Engineering PhD

  • Typically 4 years full time
  • Year of entry 2020
  • Campus Egham

About us

The innovative and exciting new Department of Electronic Engineering links excellent engineering with the ingenious application of creativity as the starting point for invention. We offer opportunities for cutting-edge research in fields including Microwave Photonics and Sensors, Nanotechnology, Voice, Music and Biosignal technologies, and Power systems.

The Department offers a range of postgraduate study opportunities around current and emerging electronic engineering trends. Research within the Department is structured into four main groups:

Microwave Photonics and Sensor Group

Dr Shyqyri Haxha

Nano-Electronics Group

Dr Wenqing Liu

Power Systems Group

Dr Stefanie Kuenzel

Audio, Biosignals and Machine Learning

Prof David Howard

Dr Clive Cheong

At the start of each programme, there will be introductory activities on research skills, giving presentations, writing reports and laboratory safety.

Explore Royal Holloway