Skip to main content

Information on our governance and decision-making processes

Here you can find out about our decision-making processes and the individuals responsible for leading and managing Royal Holloway on a day-to-day basis.

Our governing body

The College Council is the governing body of Royal Holloway; responsible for overall strategy and policy-making. The Chair is The Right Honourable Dame Margaret Hodge, DBE, MP. The Academic Board reports to the Council.

Our day-to-day leadership and management

An executive team of Deputy Principals, Senior Vice-Principal, Chief Financial Officer, Vice-Principals, and directors manages Royal Holloway on a day-to-day basis. This team is led by our Principal, Professor Paul Layzell.

Academic departments are each led by a Head of Department and grouped into six schools, each led by a Head of School.

Our Students’ Union is led by an elected President and four Vice Presidents who serve for one year at a time. They are supported by part-time Executive Officers who form a committee of student representatives.

Our relationship with University of London

Royal Holloway is one of the larger colleges of the University of London: a federal organisation of 18 self-governing colleges and ten other smaller specialist research institutes. Each college is an individual entity in its own right, with its own distinctive community and character.

The current Chancellor of the University of London (a largely ceremonial role) is Her Royal Highness Princess Anne, The Princess Royal. The Vice Chancellor is Sir Adrian Smith, previously Director General of Knowledge and Innovation in the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS).

Technician Commitment Action Plan

Read our Technician Commitment Action Plan here.

Further information

The passing of the University of London Act 2018 enables the member institutions of the federal University of London to seek university status in their own right, while remaining part of the federation.

Royal Holloway and Bedford New College intends to do so, along with the institutions named below. There are no planned changes to any of our legal names but the Department for Education has nonetheless requested a public consultation as part of its normal process for the grant of university status. A statement has been published in the London Gazette, also inviting any organisations or individuals with concerns or questions to contact the University of London. 

The grant of university status for the member institutions of the federal university makes no difference at all to degrees awarded, existing or past relationships, programmes of study, contracts or any other undertakings or activities of Royal Holloway and Bedford New College or the other institutions.

If you have concerns or questions about this process, please contact Rosalind Frendo, Director of Compliance and Secretary to the Board, University of London, Senate House, Malet Street, London, WC1E 7HU or email by 4 March 2019.

Birkbeck College

City, University of London

Goldsmiths’ College

King’s College London

The London School of Economics and Political Science

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Queen Mary University of London

The Royal Veterinary College

School of Oriental and African Studies

St George’s Hospital Medical School

University College London


Royal Holloway codes and policies are published here.

Explore Royal Holloway