Skip to main content

Earth Sciences - About us

Earth Sciences - About us

The Department of Earth Sciences is part of the School of Life Sciences and the Environment.

Department of Earth Sciences
Queens Building
Royal Holloway University of London
Egham Hill
Egham, Surrey 
TW20 0EX

The Department has been awarded the Athena Swan Bronze award.

The Athena Swan Charter is a framework which is used across the globe to support and transform gender equality within higher education (HE) and research. Established in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment, the Charter is now being used across the globe to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

Head of Department Dr Kevin Clemitshaw 01784 414026
UG Recruitment Lead Professor David Waltham 01784 443617
MSc in Environmental Diagnosis and Management Dr Nathalie Grassineau 01784 443810
MSc in Energy GeoSciences Dr Nic Scarselli 01784 443597
MSc in Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology Professor Richard Ghail 01784 276766
Technical Operations Manager Mr Dan Parsonage 01784 443595


Adam, Jürgen Professor in Structural Geology QB276
Basu, Anirban Lecturer in Isotope Geochemistry QB251
Chan, Queenie Lecturer in Earth Sciences QB279
Chiarella, Domenico Lecturer in Sedimentary Geology QB281
Clemitshaw, Kevin Reader in Environmental Geoscience QB216
Collinson, Margaret Professor of Plant Palaeobiology QB254
Dickson, Alex Lecturer in Isotope Geochemistry QB253
Falcon-Lang, Howard Professor QB277
Fisher, Rebecca Lecturer in Atmospheric biogeochemistry QB244
Ghail, Richard Professor in Planetary and Engineering Geology QB245
Gough, Amy Lecturer in Clastic Sedimentology QB268
Gudmundsson, Agust Professor of Structural Geology QB282
Grassineau, Nathalie Lecturer in Geochemistry QB249
Hernandez-Molina, Javier  Professor in Sedimentary Geology QB267b
King, Martin Professor in Atmospheric and Cryospheric Science QB238
Lowry, David Reader in Stable Isotopes & Greenhouse Gases QB252
Manning, Christina Lecturer in Igneous Geochemistry QB245
Nisbet, Euan Professor of Earth Sciences QB270
Paul, Jonathan Lecturer in Geoscience QB250
Scarselli, Nicola Lecturer in Subsurface Imaging & Evaluation QB280
Waltham, David Professor in Mathematical Geology QB247
Watkinson, Ian Regional Tectonic Analysis QB278
Parsonage, Dan Technical Operations Manager QB215
Longbottom, Mark IT Manager QB224
Lehane, Frank IS Manager QB224
Gibbons, Sharon Palaeontology Technician QB261
Brakeley, James
XRD & Geochemistry Lab Manager
Holloway, Neil Thin Sections QB009
Morris, Jerry Science Workshop Engineer Science Workshop
White, Babara Laboratory Technician QB016
D'Souza, Kevin Photography & Deputy TOM QB219
James France Postdoctoral Research Associate  
Paula Koelemeijer Royal Society University Research Fellow  
Mathias Lanoisellé Postgraduate Research Assistant QB201
Andrew Scott Distinguished Research Professor QB269
Ali Al-Juboury Visiting Professor in Earthsciences
David Alderton Honorary Research Associate
Tony Barber Emeritus Reader, Tectonics, SE Asia Group
Derek Blundell Emeritus Professor of Geophysics, Basin Dynamics
Dan Bosence Emeritus Professor of Carbonate Sedimentology
Trevor Burchette Visiting Professor in Earthsciences
Robert Hall Emeritus Professor
Ian Davison Visiting Professor in Earthsciences
John Dolson Visiting Professor in Petroleum Geosciences
Keith Gerdes Honorary Lecturer
Martin Insley Visiting Professor in Petroleum Geology
Amando Lasabuda Visiting Researcher in Sedimentary Geology
David Mattey Emeritus Professor in Geochemistry
John Mather Emeritus Professor in Hydrogeology & Environmental Geochemistry
Ken McClay Emeritus Professor in Structural Geology
Martin Menzies  Emeritus Professor in Volcanology and Geochemistry
Moreton Moore Emeritus Professor and Honorary Fellow
Norman Oxtoby Honorary Research Associate
Ted Rose Honorary Research Fellow
Graeme Simpson Visiting Professor in Earthsciences
Inga Sevastjanova Honorary Research Associate
Nathan Sheldon Honorary Research Fellow
Mike Simmons Visiting Professor of Petroleum Geology
Emma Tomlinson Honorary Research Associate
Leigh Truelove Visiting Lecturer in Petroleum Geology
Sergei Turenko Visiting Professor of Geology & Geoinformatics
John Wright  Honorary Fellow
Bernie Vining Visiting Professor in Petroleum Geology
Yigang Xu Visiting Professor in Earthsciences
Sirwan Yamulki Honorary Research Fellow

Explore Royal Holloway

Get help paying for your studies at Royal Holloway through a range of scholarships and bursaries.

There are lots of exciting ways to get involved at Royal Holloway. Discover new interests and enjoy existing ones

Heading to university is exciting. Finding the right place to live will get you off to a good start

Whether you need support with your health or practical advice on budgeting or finding part-time work, we can help

Discover more about our 21 departments and schools

Find out why Royal Holloway is in the top 25% of UK universities for research rated ‘world-leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’

Royal Holloway is a research intensive university and our academics collaborate across disciplines to achieve excellence.

Discover world-class research at Royal Holloway

Discover more about who we are today, and our vision for the future

Royal Holloway began as two pioneering colleges for the education of women in the 19th century, and their spirit lives on today

We’ve played a role in thousands of careers, some of them particularly remarkable

Find about our decision-making processes and the people who lead and manage Royal Holloway today