Skip to main content

TeacherHub>English Resources for Online Learning During Lockdown

Search Royal Holloway

TeacherHub>English Resources for Online Learning During Lockdown

Because of the Covid-19 crisis, we are not able to hold our Annual Teacher Forum this year, but we do have ways of supporting our TeacherHub community during these challenging times. As well as our existing videos and resources, we have rounded up the best of the freely available internet resources to support teachers preparing on-line lessons.

 

Poetry is very well served by a range of websites and databases, many of which provide supplementary materials as well as primary texts:

 

English and Media Studies have produced a plethora of free resources to assist during lockdown, including publishing resources to encourage Year 11s to go on and study A Level English Literature, English Language and English Language and Literature. You can find that material at the following link, along with a substantial amount of KS3 material. https://www.englishandmedia.co.uk/

 

The Poetry Archive: http://www.poetryarchive.org

 

The Poetry Foundation: http://www.poetryfoundation.org

 

The Poetry Library: http://www.poetrylibrary.org.uk

 

The Poetry Society https://poetrysociety.org.uk/

 

The Poetry by Heart website is geared to helping teachers and pupils in schools, with a Learning Zone and a Teaching Zone https://www.poetrybyheart.org.uk/

 

The internet archive https://archive.org is a huge collection of primary and secondary materials, including films and other media. The Hathi Trust has digitised thousands of reference works: https://www.hathitrust.org.

 

Literary Hub www.lithub.com is a fascinating website that rounds up literary news, including features on new and classic literature and interviews with writers.

 

British Library is a brilliant source of information and teaching inspiration: https://www.bl.uk/learning

 

None of us can go on theatre trips at the moment, but The National Theatre has made lots of performances available via their National Theatre at home site: https://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/nt-at-home. They also have great learning resources: https://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/learning/schools/secondary-and-fe

 

Some publishers have made subscription-only resources freely available during the crisis. The Royal Holloway library provides a list of databases that are temporarily available:

https://intranet.royalholloway.ac.uk/students/campus-life/the-library/services/free-resources.aspx. The list includes a huge range of articles hosted at Project Muse:

https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/.

 

If you are interested in women writers, you could check out Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present, http://orlando.cambridge.org. It  is freely available until the end of May - possibly longer if the present crisis continues:

     username: User2020

     password: Access2020

 

You will know about many others yourself, so do share them with the TeacherHub>English community by email this address Teacher.Hub@rhul.ac.uk

Explore Royal Holloway