Skip to main content

Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Accounting Conference 2024

Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Accounting Conference 2024

14th Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Accounting Conference at Royal Holloway University of London, 3-5 July 2024.

The School of Business and Management is delighted to announce that Royal Holloway University of London will be hosting the 14th Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Accounting (IPA) Conference in 2024.

The conference is an established forum for research into the social, political and organisational aspects of accounting. It brings together accounting researchers with broad social science interests from a range of different disciplinary perspectives such as anthropology, history, philosophy, sociology and political economy.

In line with past conferences, IPA 2024 aims to provide accounting scholars with a unique forum for further developing interdisciplinary debate on accounting research, its multidimensional impact on society from diverse methodological stands, highlighting emerging paths and innovative lines of enquiry.

As well as connecting scholars from a broad network of institutions the conference will benefit from the coordinated efforts of three research centres based in the School of Business and Management at Royal Holloway, which are strongly committed to interdisciplinary research perspectives: the Centre for Critical and Historical Research on Organisation and Society (CHRONOS), the Centre for Research into Sustainability (CRIS), and the Digital Organisation and Society Research Centre (DOS).

We invite researchers from all areas of the social sciences and humanities to submit papers. The conference format is intended to provide presenters with a constructive forum to discuss their research. All papers will undergo a double-blind review process. Accepted papers will be presented by a discussant, the author(s) will respond, and an open discussion will follow. Therefore, we require presenters of accepted papers to be willing to act as discussants and submitting authors to act as reviewers.

The conference is preceded by the Emerging Scholars Colloquium (ESC), 1-2 July 2024. PhD students conducting their PhD research in the field of interdisciplinary accounting research are encouraged to submit their work and attend.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the beautiful campus of Royal Holloway for an engaging and stimulating event!

For more information, please contact:


  • Key Dates - 

    IPA Conference: July 03 – 05 2024

    Paper submission open: September 01 2023
    Paper submission deadline: January 15 2024
    Notification of acceptance: March 25 2024  


    ESC: July 01 – 02 2024
    Paper submission open: September 01 2023
    Application deadline: February 05 2024
    Notification of acceptance: March 25 2024

  • Conference Chairs - 
    Giulia Achilli, Elena Giovannoni, Susan O’Leary and Helen Tregidga 
  • Organising Committee - 
    Gloria Agyemang, Rebecca Bolt, Teddy Foster, Julinda Nuri, Christian Stadler, Saffet Uygur and Nana Zhao 
  • Organisers of the Emerging Scholars Colloquium - 
    Christopher Napier, Christopher Nobes, and Leonardo Rinaldi


Royal Holloway, University of London
Egham Hill
TW20 0EX

Find us on Google maps.

Royal Holloway is situated in Egham, Surrey, just two miles from junction 13 of the M25 and a mere fifteen minutes from Heathrow airport.  It is also easily accessible from London City or Gatwick airports.

There is a reasonable bus service from London Heathrow, Terminal 5 to Royal Holloway, which stops on Egham Hill, just outside the gates to the main entrance of the College. 

There are frequent train services from London Waterloo via Clapham Junction and Richmond to Egham (35 – 40 minutes).

Download a copy of our campus map.


You can view accessibility information for Royal Holloway here.

Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Accounting Conference (IPA) - Windsor Building

Emerging Scholars Colloquium (ESC) - Moore Building 

Royal Holloway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation on site with availability in premium ensuite (double bedded room) and in standard single bedrooms (non-ensuite). This accommodation is located within easy walking distance of the conference venue.

In addition, there are many local hotels at a close distance to campus, should delegates wish to stay off-site. These include:

The IPA 2024 is sponsored by: Accounting Organizations and Society and Accounting Forum


Explore Royal Holloway

Get help paying for your studies at Royal Holloway through a range of scholarships and bursaries.

There are lots of exciting ways to get involved at Royal Holloway. Discover new interests and enjoy existing ones.

Heading to university is exciting. Finding the right place to live will get you off to a good start.

Whether you need support with your health or practical advice on budgeting or finding part-time work, we can help.

Discover more about our 21 departments and schools.

Find out why Royal Holloway is in the top 25% of UK universities for research rated ‘world-leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’.

Royal Holloway is a research intensive university and our academics collaborate across disciplines to achieve excellence.

Discover world-class research at Royal Holloway.

Discover more about who we are today, and our vision for the future.

Royal Holloway began as two pioneering colleges for the education of women in the 19th century, and their spirit lives on today.

We’ve played a role in thousands of careers, some of them particularly remarkable.

Find about our decision-making processes and the people who lead and manage Royal Holloway today.