Skip to main content

College Council

Search Royal Holloway

College Council

College Council is the governing body of Royal Holloway and is responsible for overall strategy and policy-making.

Council is responsible for:

  • setting the overall strategic direction for Royal Holloway
  • ensuring our financial and academic probity and our sustainability 
  • safeguarding our good name
  • ensuring that policies and processes are in place to achieve our desired outcomes and are properly executed

Council has adopted the Higher Education Code of Governance and Statement of Primary Responsibilities drawn up by the Committee of University Chairs (CUC).

Membership of Council

College Council Nov 2019

There are 25 Council members. Membership consists of:

  • Council Chair, The Right Honourable Dame Margaret Hodge, Dame Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (DBE), Member of Parliament (MP)
  • the Principal, Paul Layzell, and President of the Students’ Union (ex officio members)
  • 16 independent members, appointed for an initial term of five years
  • three members elected by non-academic staff
  • three members elected by the academic staff
  • one student member elected by the students.

Council members are also trustees of the Founder’s Endowment Fund, a trust established in 1992 for the benefit of Royal Holloway. The Academic Board reports to Council. See below for full details of current Council members.

To contact a member of Council, email

Governing documents

The key governing documents for Royal Holloway are:

Independent members

Ex officio members

Elected members

Council agendas and minutes

Explore Royal Holloway