We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Physics home > News > EPS Condensed Matter Division Europhysics Prize
More in this section News articles

EPS Condensed Matter Division Europhysics Prize

Posted on 13/06/2012

The European Physical Society (EPS) Condensed Matter Division Europhysic Prize is one of Europe’s most prestigious prizes in the field of condensed matter physics.  It is awarded every two years for a recent work by one or more individuals in the area of physics of condensed matter, specifically work leading to advances in the fields of electronic, electrical and materials engineering which, in the opinion of the Society's selection committee, represents scientific excellence. 

The EPS has recently announced that the 2012 CMD Europhysics Prize has been awarded to Steven Bramwell (LCN), (RHUL), Santiago Grigera (St Andrews), Roderich Moessner (Max Planck Institution), Shivaji Sondhi (Princeton University) and Alan Tennant (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin) for the prediction and experimental observation of magnetic monopoles in spin ice (long citation).

The prize will be presented at the forthcoming 24th EPS CMD General Conference in Edinburgh on 3-7 September 2012.


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback