We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Physics > About us
More in this section About us

About us


The Department of Physics at Royal Holloway is one of the major centres for Physics teaching and research in the University of London. It has an international reputation for its research, which ranges from fundamental studies in the basic properties of matter (at the lowest temperatures and highest energies) to advanced applications of Physics. Our expertise across the whole subject – combined with an excellent record for teaching – enables us to offer a wide and attractive range of undergraduate degree programmes covering different areas of Physics. Our high standards are supported by excellent specialist facilities.

Our facilities

Our facilities include the London Low Temperature Laboratory, the John Adams Institute for Accelerator Science, Grid computing equipment and a Schimdt-Cassegrain telescope on the roof of our building. Our location means we are close to other major institutes such as the Science and Technology Facilities Council on the Harwell Campus and SEPnet as well as the National Physical Laboratory giving us access to further outstanding research facilities.

Strong links 

We maintain strong collaborative links, both nationally and internationally, in all of our major research areas. These include major international facilities at CERN, ISIS, Diamond Light Source, National Physical Laboratory and with other universities as well as industry-based departments in the UK, Europe and the rest of the world.

Our staff and students 

The Department comprises approximately 23 full-time academic staff, a further eight emeritus and visiting professors and two teaching fellows. In addition, we have 12 research officers and 40 postgraduate students. Technical support for teaching and research is provided by a dozen technical staff. Our undergraduate intake is typically 60 per year.

High-quality teaching

Our teaching is strongly linked to the other departments of Physics in the University of London, particularly through collaborative teaching agreements for the MSci fourth year. Royal Holloway is also a leading member of the South East Physics Network (SEPnet) – a consortium of six institutions that provides advanced research opportunities and a regional programme of outreach and employer engagement.

We are proud to be one of only six Physics Departments in the UK to have achieved Champion status in the Institute of Physics’ Project Juno, which aims to address a range of equal opportunity issues including the current under-representation of women in Physics.


We run a vibrant summer internship programme for our students, as well as for visitors from overseas. This programme is coordinated with national and international laboratories and our regional research partners. It offers a wide range of both academic research and industrial placements to undergraduate students for a six to eight week period over the summer vacation.






Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback