Laurels awards ceremony celebrates outstanding contrbutions

Posted on 31/05/2012

The annual Laurels awards ceremony held by the Students’ Union on Thursday (24 May) was a celebration of the many exceptional contributions made by both students and staff during the academic year 2011-12.

The Laurels recognise those in our College community who contribute in an outstanding manner in service to a committee and by helping in the running of the Students’ Union at large, or through their support for students during the course of their studies. The award recipients are nominated by students.

The Laurels event not only sees the presentation of student awards but also the Apple for the Teacher awards in which students are given the chance to commend and thank academic and administrative staff.

This year, Dr Robin Adams (Computer Science) Dr James McEvoy (Biological Sciences), Dr Tio Sharia (Mathematics) Professor Kristen Kreider (English), Margaret Scrivner (Classics), Matthew Smith (Drama and Theatre), Professor Eric Robertson (Modern Languages) and Professor Patrick Leman (Psychology) were all nominated and awarded by students and congratulated for their teaching excellence and outstanding support. 

Honorary Life Membership is given to friends of the Students' Union who have provided support and commitment to the success of the organisation in a variety of ways. This year, life membership was awarded to Helen Groenendaal (Community Liason and Support Officer), Father Vlad (RC Chaplain) and John Tuck (Director of Library Services) for their contributions.

The students who received this year's Laurels were: Joe Rayment (Union Chair), Amarbeer Singh (Societies Officer) and James Harrison (Head of Technology at Insanity Radio). Further awards were given to Will Clark, Gemma King, David Moorcroft, Steph Glover, Ian Stewart, Dan Garbutt and David Lamb.

Congratulations to all!


Royal Holloway, University of London logo