We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Geography home > Staff directory
More in this section Staff directory

Staff directory

Academic staff

Job title
Professor Katie Willis       Head of Department and Professor of Human Geography  
Professor Peter Adey       Professor of Human Geography, Director of MSc in Geopolitics
Dr Simon Armitage       Reader in Quaternary Science, Director of MSc in Quaternary Science
Dr Simon Blockley       Reader in Quaternary Science 
Dr Katherine Brickell       Reader in Human Geography,  Director of PDS
Professor Ian Candy       Professor of Geography, Director of Graduate Studies (Current Students)
Professor Phil Crang       Professor of Cultural Geography, Director of SCG, Co-Director of the Centre for the GeoHumanities
Dr Bethan Davies       Lecturer in Physical Geography
Dr Vandana Desai       Senior Lecturer in Development Geography, Equalities & Diversity Officer
Professor Klaus Dodds       Professor of Geopolitics,Director of Research
Dr Mike Dolton       Senior Lecturer, Departmental Educational Support Officer and Director of the MSc Practising Sustainable Development & MSc in Sustainability & Management
Professor Veronica Della Dora       Professor of Human Geography
Professor Felix Driver       Professor of Human Geography
Dr Gwilym Eades
      Lecturer in Human and Environmental Geography
Sasha Engelmann       Lecturer in GeoHumanities
Professor Scott Elias       Professor of Quaternary Science
Dr Peter French       Senior Lecturer, Director of Undergraduate Teaching
Professor David Gilbert       Professor of Urban and Historical Geography
Professor Harriet Hawkins       Professor of GeoHumanities, Co-Director of the Centre for the GeoHumanities
Dr Innes Keighren       Reader in Historical Geography, Director of Graduate Studies (Admissions and Recruitment)
Professor John Lowe       Emeritus Professor of Geography
Dr Ian Matthews       Senior Lecturer in Quaternary Science
Dr Alice Milner       Lecturer in Physical Geography
Professor Jay Mistry       Professor of Environmental Geography, Director of Impact
Dr Oli Mould       Director of the MA in Cultural Geography
Sofie Narbed       Teaching Fellow in Cultural Geography
Mel Nowicki       Teaching Fellow in Human Geography
Cecilie Sachs Olsen       Lecturer in Social and Cultural Geography
Dr Adrian Palmer       Senior Research Officer
Dr Alasdair Pinkerton       Senior Lecturer, Undergraduate Admissions Tutor
Professor Jim Rose       Emeritus Professor of Geography
Professor Danielle Schreve       Professor of Quaternary Science, Director of the Centre for Quaternary Research
Professor David Simon       Professor of Development Geography
Dr Ayesha Siddiqi       Lecturer in Human Geography
Rachael Squire       Lecturer in Human Geography
Mr Don Thompson       Senior Lecturer, Departmental Skills, Training and IT Officer
Dr Varyl Thorndycraft       Senior Lecturer
Professor Tim Unwin       Emeritus Professor of Geography and UNESCO Chair in ICT4D

Research staff

Job title
Dr Janet Bowstead     British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr Amy Cutler     Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow
Dr Caroline Cornish     Post-doctoral researcher
Dr Rikke Jensen     Research Assistant
Dr Alison Macleod     Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow
Dr Celia Martin Puertas     Marie Curie Research Fellow
Dr Helen Scalway     Artist in Residence
Dr Jenny Sjoholm     Marie Curie research fellow
Rhys Timms     Post-doctoral researcher

Technical staff


Dr Claire Mayers
Technical Operations Manager

Tel: 01784 443808
Email: claire.mayers@rhul.ac.uk


Mr Raymond Aung
Computing and Website Manager & Acting Deputy Technical Operations Manager

Tel 01784 443613
Email: Raymond.Aung@rhul.ac.uk

Flowers Mrs Katy Flowers

Laboratory Technician

Tel: 01784 443659
Email: katy.flowers@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Marta Perez
Laboratory Technician

Tel: 01784 443659
Email: m.perez-2@rhul.ac.uk


Miss Jenny Kynaston
Cartographic Technician

Tel: 01784 443568
Email: jenny.kynaston@rhul.ac.uk

M Kelsey

Malcolm Kelsey
Cartographic Technician

Tel: 01784 443568


Dr Adrian Palmer
Senior Research Officer

Tel: 01784 443507
Email: a.palmer@rhul.ac.uk



Mr Iñaki Valcarcel
Laboratory Technician

Tel: 01784 444683
Email: jose.valcarcel@rhul. ac.uk

Administrative staff


Ms Moya Watson

Department Manager

Tel: 01784 443564
Email: moya.watson@rhul.ac.uk


Miss Laura Flitney
Faculty Administrator (Undergraduate)

Tel: 01784 443563
Email: laura.flitney@rhul.ac.uk


Mrs Liz Hamilton
Faculty Administrator (Postgraduate)
(Monday & Tuesday)

Attendance Monitoring and Exams Administrator
(Thursdays – Term Time only)

Tel: 01784 443563
Email: liz.hamilton@rhul.ac.uk

Dr Rupert Housley
Departmental Financial Administrator

Tel: 01784 443656


Mrs Karen Oliver
Faculty Administrator (Postgraduate)
(Wednesdays to Fridays)

Tel: 01784 443563
Email: Karen.Oliver@rhul.ac.uk

Visiting Professors

Edward Derbyshire, BA (Keele), MSc (McGill), PhD (Monash) Emeritus Professor
David Grimshaw, BSc (Econ) (Hull), DipTP (Kingston), MPhil (CNAA), PhD (Warwick), CITP, MBCS Visiting academic ICT4D
Xingmin Meng (Chang'an), PhD (London)  
Christopher B Stringer, BSc (Lond), PhD, DSc (Bristol)  

Honorary Research Associates

Dr Eleanor Brown (Senior Geologist, Natural England)
Dr James Dixon (Built Heritage Consultant, Museum of London Archaeology)
Dr Philip Hatfield (Lead Curator, Digital Map Collections, British Library)
Dr David Hollow (Lead Consultant, Jigsaw Consult)
Dr Janet Owen (Chief Executive, Hampshire Cultural Trust)
Dr David Rooney (Keeper of Technologies and Engineering, Science Museum, London)
Dr Helen Scalway (Independent artist)
Pierre Schreve
Mr Jonathan Storey
Dr Mark Thorpe (Director, Truth Consulting)
Dr Mark Nesbitt (Research Leader, Economic Botany, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew)
Evelyn Wilson (Director and co-founder of The Cultural Capital Exchange, TCCE)

Honorary Research Fellows

Dr Mary Dengler
Professor Clive Gamble
Dr Duncan McGregor

Latest news

Follow us on...

twitter-bird-white-on-blue-1 facebook youtube pinterest-logo

Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback