We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Classics home > Staff directory
More in this section Staff directory

Staff directory

Academic staff within the department (or teaching departmental courses)

Position and title
Richard Alston
Professor of Roman History, Director of Research, Director of PGT Programmes (Autumn Term 2016 only)
Lecturer in Latin Language and Literature
Reader in Ancient and Late Antiquite History (Department of History)
Lecturer in Classics, Director of PGT Programmes from Spring Term 2017
Richard Hawley
Senior Lecturer in Classics, Deputy Head of Department with responsibility for student satisfaction
Ahuvia Kahane
Professor of Greek. On sabbatical until Sept 2017
Lecturer in Roman Art and Archaeology, Library Liasion
Christos Kremmydas
Reader in Greek History
Nick Lowe
Reader in Classical Literature, Undergraduate Admissions Tutor
Jari Pakkenen
Professor of Classical Archaeology (on Secondment as Director of the Finnish School in Athens) 
Jonathan Powell
Professor of Latin. Unavailable until Further Notice.
Boris Rankov
Professor of Ancient History. Head of Department. Academic Coordinator
Lecturer in Classical Archaeology
Lene Rubinstein
Professor of Ancient History, Director of Graduate Studies
Efi Spentzou
Reader in Latin, Visiting Students Officer
On secondment from the Greek Ministry of Education
Marie Curie Visiting Fellow; Prof. of Legal History, Univ. of Thrace
Amanda Claridge
Professor Emerita of Roman Archaeology
Ed Sanders
Research Associate
Anne Sheppard
Professor Emerita of Ancient Philosophy
Richard Warren
Honorary Research Associate
Sarah Butler
Honorary Research Associate
Peter Howell
Honorary Research Associate

Academic staff from other departments

Position and title
Michael Bacon
Lecturer in Political Theory (PIR)
Charalambos Dendrinos
Senior Lecturer in Byzantine Literature and Greek Palaeography; Director, Hellenic Institute (History)
Bob Eaglestone
Professor of Contemporary Literature and Thought (English)
Peregrin Horden
Professor of Medieval History (History)
Dan Rebellato
Professor of Comtemporary Theatre (Drama)
Adam Roberts
Professor of Nineteenth-century Literature (English)
Jonathan Seglow
Senior Lecturer in Politics (PIR)
Nathan Widder
Reader in Political Theory (PIR)
David Wiles
Professor of Theatre (Drama)

Part-time staff within the department

Administrative staff

Position and title
Faculty Administrator
Department Manager

Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback