Home > About us home > News and events > News > Professor Andrew Motion to chair Booker Prize 2010 panel
More in this section News articles

Professor Andrew Motion to chair Booker Prize 2010 panel

Posted on 18/11/2009

Andrew Motion

Sir Andrew Motion, Professor of Creative Writing at Royal Holloway, University of London, was today unveiled as the chair of the 2010 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

The acclaimed poet, biographer, lecturer and former Poet Laureate described it as an exciting challenge with a lot of difficult decisions lying ahead. He said: "It's an honour to be asked to chair the Man Booker Prize, which has consistently been a focus for the best fiction of recent years. I greatly look forward to a year of reading voraciously."

Professor Motion and his panel will have to read more than 100 novels before they decide on the winner of the award. The shortlist of six contenders is revealed in September and the winner is decided on October 12. Hilary Mantel, an Honorary Fellow of Royal Holloway, won the 2009 Man Booker Prize for her historical novel 'Wolf Hall'.

Professor Motion was appointed Poet Laureate in 1999 and stepped down from the role in April 2009. He was appointed Professor of Creative Writing at Royal Holloway in 2003 to design and be director of the new MA in Creative Writing. The bulk of his teaching has recently concentrated on Creative Writing, but he has also lectured extensively on 19th and 20th-century poetry, and supervised several theses in both these areas. He is the co-founder of the online Poetry Archive and was knighted last month for his services to literature.

To find out more visit:


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback