Skip to main content

New book on Schoenberg by Mark Berry

Search Royal Holloway

New book on Schoenberg by Mark Berry

  • Date27 February 2019

Mark's new biography of the composer is now available from Reaktion Books.


The book, Arnold Schoenberg, is part of Reaktion's noted 'Critical Lives' series. From the publisher:

The most radical and divisive composer of the twentieth century, Arnold Schoenberg remains a hero to many, and a villain to many others. In this refreshingly balanced biography, Mark Berry tells the story of Schoenberg’s life and work within the wider context of nineteenth- and twentieth-century European and world history. Along the way he introduces all of Schoenberg’s major musical works, from his very first compositions such as the String Quartet in D Major to his invention of the 12-tone method. It is essential reading for all those with an interest in the music and history of the twentieth century.

The book can currently be ordered with a 20% discount from enter code ARNOLD20 at the checkout. It is also available to order from all good bookshops.

Mark Berry is Reader in Music History at Royal Holloway, University of London. He is the author of Treacherous Bonds and Laughing Fire: Politics and Religion in Wagner’s ‘Ring’ (2016) and After Wagner: Histories of Modernist Music Drama from ‘Parsifal’ to Nono (2014). He also regularly reviews concert and opera performances for his popular blog, Boulezian, which was recently selected by the British Library for preservation in the UK Web Archive.

Explore Royal Holloway