Skip to main content

Academic staff

Academic staff

Professor Geoff Baker 
Emeritus Professor of Music

Research profile

geoff.baker@rhul.ac.uk 


Professor Mark Berry

Professor of Music and Intellectual History; Head of Department

Intellectual and cultural history; opera; Mozart; Wagner; Schoenberg; Adorno; German idealism and Marxism. 

Research profile

mark.berry@rhul.ac.uk


Professor Julie Brown

Professor of Music

Cultural history of early 20th-century music; Schoenberg and Viennese Modernism; musical multimedia; silent film music. 

Research profile

julie.brown@rhul.ac.uk


Professor Geoffrey Chew

Emeritus Professor of Music

Czech and Slovak music and literature since 1600. 

Research profile

g.chew@rhul.ac.uk 


Nathan James Dearden
Lecturer in Music Composition: Interim Director of Composition
Composition: Orchestral & chamber music; vocal & choral music; opera; immersive & experiential music-making; music in the community.

Dr Helen Deeming

Honorary Research Associate

Medieval music; notation; manuscript studies.

Research profile

helen.deeming@rhul.ac.uk


Professor Stephen Downes

Professor of Music

Central and Eastern European music; romanticism and modernism. 

Research profile

stephen.downes@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Mary Dullea

Reader

Piano trio performance practice; new works for solo piano, incorporating extended techniques. 

Research profile

mary.dullea@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Daniel Elphick

Lecturer in Musicology

Music history and politics, especially Russian, Soviet, and East-European music since 1800; music theory and analysis; Shostakovich; Weinberg; socialist realism; music and Marxism.

Research profile.

daniel.elphick@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Samantha Fernando

Lecturer

Composition. 

Research profile

samantha.fernando@rhul.ac.uk

 


Professor Julian Johnson

Regius Professor of Music

19th and 20th centuries; philosophy of music; modernism. 

Research profile

julian.johnson@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Zubin Kanga
Lecturer in Musical Performance and Digital Arts; UKRI Future Leaders Fellow and Principal Investigator of Cyborg Soloists
Composing and performing with new technologies, including AI, visual interactions, bio-sensors and new instrument design. Distributed Creativity. Diversity in contemporary music. 

Research profile

zubin.kanga@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Tonia Ko

Lecturer in Composition

Composition: Instrumental and vocal music; electronics; improvisation; sound art; music and movement. 

Research profile

tonia.ko@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Fatima Lahham

Teaching Fellow 

Early modern studies, Anglo-Ottoman musical relations in the seventeenth-century, Historical Improvisation, Historical Performance, Critical Improvisation Studies, Decoloniality, Feminist studies.

fatima.lahham@rhul.ac.uk 

Website


Erik Levi
Visiting Professor in Music  

Austrian and German Music of the Twentieth Century especially Weimar Republic, Austrofascism, the Nazi era, politically suppressed composers and Interpreters, Mozart and Beethoven reception in wartime Europe.   


Rebecca Miller

Director of Orchestras

Performance; conducting.

rebecca.miller@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Tom Parkinson

Senior Lecturer in Digital Composition

Composition and sound design for immersive, interactive and screen media; theatre and dance; production; music technology

Research Profile

tom.parkinson@rhul.ac.uk


Professor Tina K. Ramnarine

Professor of Music

Global perspectives on music; performance; orchestras; ethnomusicology

Research profile

tina.k.ramnarine@rhul.ac.uk


Professor Stephen Rose

Professor of Music

German music 1500-1800; English music 1550-1750; music and book history; digital musicology. 

Research profile

stephen.rose@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Henry Stobart

Reader in Music

Global perspectives on Music, especially of the Bolivian Andes; ethnomusicology; Indigenous perspectives/aesthetics; performance practice; digital technologies; media piracy; heritage making.

Research profile

h.stobart@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Tim Summers

Lecturer

Music and the moving image, especially video games; virtuality and interactivity; opera, particularly Wagner; music education, queer theory.

Research profile

tim.summers@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Shzr Ee Tan
Reader
Decolonisation in music/sound studies, community/capacity-building and EDI in music studies, music and food sustainabilities, East and Southeast perspectives 

Research profile

shzree.tan@rhul.ac.uk


Dr Tom Wagner

Teaching Fellow in Music Performance & Digital Arts

Ethnomusicology and performance; connections between cultural values and economic value in hyper-mediated consumer cultures; live music in immersive virtual environments and ethical consumption discourses in the music industries. 

Research profile

tom.wagner@rhul.ac.uk 


Dr Nina Whiteman
Reader 
 
Composition: orchestral & chamber music, multimedia, opera, electroacoustic; experimental vocal performance; multimedia performance; free improvisation; performance studies.

Research profile

nina.whiteman@rhul.ac.uk

Explore Royal Holloway

Get help paying for your studies at Royal Holloway through a range of scholarships and bursaries.

There are lots of exciting ways to get involved at Royal Holloway. Discover new interests and enjoy existing ones

Heading to university is exciting. Finding the right place to live will get you off to a good start

Whether you need support with your health or practical advice on budgeting or finding part-time work, we can help

Discover more about our 21 departments and schools

Find out why Royal Holloway is in the top 25% of UK universities for research rated ‘world-leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’

Royal Holloway is a research intensive university and our academics collaborate across disciplines to achieve excellence.

Discover world-class research at Royal Holloway

Discover more about who we are today, and our vision for the future

Royal Holloway began as two pioneering colleges for the education of women in the 19th century, and their spirit lives on today

We’ve played a role in thousands of careers, some of them particularly remarkable

Find about our decision-making processes and the people who lead and manage Royal Holloway today