Skip to main content

Academic staff

Search Royal Holloway

Academic staff

Professor Geoff Baker

Professor of Music

Music and society in Latin America; music and the city; music education and social action. Research profile

geoff.baker@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Mark Berry

Reader in Music History; Head of Department

Intellectual and cultural history; opera; Mozart; Wagner; Schoenberg; Adorno; German idealism and Marxism. Research profile

mark.berry@rhul.ac.uk


 

Professor Mark Bowden

Professor of Composition

Composition: Orchestral & chamber music; vocal & choral music; opera; music for dance. Research profile

mark.bowden@rhul.ac.uk


 

Professor Julie Brown

Professor of Music

Cultural history of early 20th-century music; Schoenberg and Viennese Modernism; musical multimedia; silent film music. Research profile

julie.brown@rhul.ac.uk


 

Professor Stephen Downes

Chair of Music

Central and Eastern European music; romanticism and modernism. Research profile

stephen.downes@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Mary Dullea

Reader

Piano trio performance practice; new works for solo piano, incorporating extended techniques. Research profile

mary.dullea@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Daniel Elphick

Teaching Fellow

Twentieth-century Russian music, especially Mieczysław Weinberg; music analysis.

daniel.elphick@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Samantha Fernando

Lecturer

Composition. Research profile

samantha.fernando@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Jonathan Godsall

Teaching Fellow

Music and screen media; musical intertextuality; reception studies.

jonathan.godsall@rhul.ac.uk


 

Professor J. P. E. Harper-Scott

Professor of Music History and Theory

Analysis and hermeneutics of early modernist symphonic music; 20th-century opera. Research profile

j.p.e.harper-scott@rhul.ac.uk


 

Professor Julian Johnson

Regius Professor of Music

19th and 20th centuries; philosophy of music; modernism. Research profile

julian.johnson@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Zubin Kanga

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

Research profile

zubin.kanga@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Tonia Ko

Lecturer in Composition

Composition: Instrumental and vocal music; electronics; improvisation; sound art; music and movement. Research profile

tonia.ko@rhul.ac.uk


 

Rebecca Miller

Director of Orchestras

Performance; conducting.

rebecca.miller@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Tom Parkinson

Lecturer in Composition

Composition and sound design for TV, film, radio, and experimental performance.

tom.parkinson@rhul.ac.uk


 

Professor Tina K. Ramnarine

Professor of Music

Music, politics and performance; anthropology, ethnomusicology and global perspectives on music. Research profile

tina.k.ramnarine@rhul.ac.uk


 

Professor Stephen Rose

Professor of Music

German music 1500-1800; English music 1550-1750; music and book history; digital musicology. Research profile

stephen.rose@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Henry Stobart

Reader in Music

Ethnomusicology, especially Bolivian music. Research profile

h.stobart@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Tim Summers

Lecturer

Music and the moving image, especially video games; virtuality and interactivity; opera, particularly Wagner; music education. Research profile

tim.summers@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Shzr Ee Tan

Senior Lecturer

Ethnomusicology, especially Sinophone and East Asian music; music and gender; music and politics; im/migration. Research profile

shzree.tan@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr John Traill

Teaching Fellow

Composition; orchestration; conducting studies; new music.

john.traill@rhul.ac.uk


 

Dr Nina Whiteman

Lecturer

Composition: Orchestral & chamber music; vocal music; electroacoustic music; multimedia performance; improvisation; performance studies. Research profile

nina.whiteman@rhul.ac.uk

Explore Royal Holloway

All undergraduates starting with us in 2020 onwards have the opportunity to take a Placement Year, which will add even more value to your studies.

There are lots of exciting ways to get involved at Royal Holloway. Discover new interests and enjoy existing ones

Heading to university is exciting. Finding the right place to live will get you off to a good start

Whether you need support with your health or practical advice on budgeting or finding part-time work, we can help

Discover more about our 21 departments and schools

Find out why Royal Holloway is in the top 25% of UK universities for research rated ‘world-leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’

They say the two most important days of your life are the day you were born, and the day you find out why

Discover world-class research at Royal Holloway

Discover more about who we are today, and our vision for the future

Royal Holloway began as two pioneering colleges for the education of women in the 19th century, and their spirit lives on today

We’ve played a role in thousands of careers, some of them particularly remarkable

Find about our decision-making processes and the people who lead and manage Royal Holloway today