We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Study here home > Research degrees > Fees and funding > Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC)
More in this section scholarships

Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC)


ESRC funding for 2017/18

 For the 2017/18 academic year onwards, Royal Holloway will be offering ESRC postgraduate scholarships through SeNSS (South-east Network for Social Sciences), a new Doctoral Training Parthership of ten universities.  (All ESRC funding for postgraduate studies up to and including the 2016/17 academic year has been offered through the South East DTC.)

Information on the SeNSS application process will be available in late October 2016. In the meantime, please make informal enquiries to the Pathway Lead as given below.

Please note that you will need to apply to Royal Holloway before an application for ESRC funding can be made.  

A masters is not a prerequisite.  A range of training programmes are available based on an assessment of the applicant’s prior learning and training needs.  All studentships can be offered on a full or part time basis.

ESRC pathways at Royal Holloway

Below is a list of all the ESRC accredited pathways at Royal Holloway, with an indication of the relevant academic lead.


Academic lead 

Email address

Phone number


Dr Juan Pablo Rud


01784 276392


Development Studies

Dr Vandana Desai


01784 276223

Human Geography

Dr Innes Keighren


01784 443722


Professor Paul Robson

Dr Amany Elbanna



01784 414286

01784 276697



Dr Kaat Smets


01784  414255


Professor Johannes Zanker

Dr Catherine Sebastian



01784 443523


Eligibility for ESRC funding

You must ensure that you fulfil all three eligibility criteria set up by the ESRC. These are:

  • Academic: for 1+3 awards you must have gained a 2.1 at least in your bachelor's degree; for +3 awards you must be in possession of a relevant, and ESRC-recognised) Master's degree.
  • Residency: for a full award (fees plus annual stipend) you must be a UK citizen and/or have resided in the UK for a minimum of three years prior to application; EU residents are eligible for fee-only awards.  If you are unsure of your eligibility, please contact esrcdtp@rhul.ac.uk.
  • Discipline: ESRC funding at Royal Holloway is available only for the pathways listed in the previous section of this page; research topics which do not fall under these areas are not eligible for ESRC funding. 

More advice on ESRC eligibility criteria can be obtained from the relevant academic lead, or esrcdtp@rhul.ac.uk.

Please also consult the ESRC Postgraduate Funding Guide, for further information on the different levels of funding available and the associated terms and conditions.

 SeNSS logo

It is expected that information about the SeNSS application process will be available in late October.  In the meantime, please see the SeNSS website.





 SeNSS logo






Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback