Skip to main content

Academia Europaea 17

Search Royal Holloway

New members of Academia Europaea

  • Date11 Aug 2017
  • Reading time 1min

Professor José Fiadeiro and Professor Gregory Gutin have been elected to Academia Europaea, Informatics section.

Academia Europaea 2

The Academia Europaea was founded in 1988 on the initiative of the UK's Royal Society and other National Academies in Europe. Academia Europaea is a functioning European Academy of Humanities, Letters and Sciences. It is the only Europe-wide Academy with individual membership from Council of Europe states and other nations across the world. Amongst them are seventy-two Nobel Laureates, several of whom were elected to the Academia before they received the prize.

Membership is by invitation only and follows a rigorous peer-review selection process. Invitations are made only after peer-group nomination, scrutiny and confirmation as to the scholarship and eminence of the individual in their chosen field. Election is confirmed by the Council of the Academia.

Other members from Royal Holloway are Gregory Claeys (History), Penelope Corfield (History), and Agust Gudmundsson (Earth Sciences).

Explore Royal Holloway