We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Psychology > Study with us > Undergraduate > Teaching prizes
More in this section Undergraduate

Teaching prizes


Team teaching prizes:

2016 team: Professor Polly Dalton, Dr Dawn Watling, Dr Ryan McKay

  • Enhancing postgraduate students' engagement in research

2014 team: led by Dr Victoria Bourne, and including Dr Alana James, Dr Carolyn McGettigan, Dr Rebecca Lucas, Dr Danijela Serbic, Mr Trevor James and Ms Katie Whiteside

  • Research methods and analysis for 2nd year students.

College Excellence Teaching prizes:

2015 Professor Narender Ramnani

  • The Patient-Student Interchange project: A collaboration with charities allows students to understand the perspectives of patients, with notable reciprocal benefits for both the students and the patients.

2014 Dr Dawn Watling

  • Recognition for the department’s personalised academic and pastoral support.

2014 Dr Alana James

  • Development of a successful new peer mentoring scheme.

2013 Professor Narender Ramnani 

  • Training future teachers and inspiring new learners: Creating access to the human brain.

2013 Dr Szonya Durant

  • Introducing new course units with linked work placements in industry.

2011 Dr Courtenay Norbury

  • Award for the third year course on Developmental Disorders. The awards committee noted that the activities included on the course greatly enhanced inclusivity and interactions between students, that clear and constructive feedback was provided to students and that there were direct connections with student employability.

2008 Professor Kathy Rastle

  • Coursework assessment that fosters independent learning and that rewards creativity.

2008 Dr Timothy Holmes

  • Developing self-learners.


2015 Dr Laura Mickes

  • Enhancing student learning through use of effective technologies: A suite of bespoke video tutorials supports the learning of key research skills.

2014 Professor Tamar Pincus and Dr Anat Bardi

  • Newly-developed package of postgraduate training options.

2012 Dr Victoria Bourne

  • Introducing and developing Moodle, an online learning suite.

Apple for the Teacher, Students' Union

Apple for the Teacher Awards exist to recognize excellence in teaching as well as providing students with a chance to commend and thank those academic and administrative staff who they feel have had a positive effect.

  • 2014 Professor Tamar Pincus

  • 2013 Dr Carolyn McGettigan

  • 2013 Dr Szonya Durant 

  • 2012 Professor Patrick Leman

  • 2010 Dr Polly Dalton

  • 2009 Dr Rita Santos.

Postgraduate tutor prize

2013 Ms Danijela Serbic

  • Teaching of Research Methods and Analysis for Psychology on first and second year courses (PS1010 and PS2010).




Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback