We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Music home > News > Sophya Polevaya featured in LSO's Panufnik Composers Scheme
More in this section newsarticles

Sophya Polevaya featured in LSO's Panufnik Composers Scheme

Posted on 05/03/2018

Royal Holloway alumna Sophya Polevaya (BMus; 2015) is selected and featured in the 2017-18 London Symphony Orchestra's Panufnik Composers Scheme, with workshop session due to take place on 18 March 2018.

Witness a pivotal moment in the creative process as our latest set of Panufnik composers workshop their new pieces with the LSO. Each of our six composers has 45 minutes in dialogue with the orchestra and conductor François-Xavier Roth, receiving real-time feedback as they refine their pieces under the guidance of composer Colin Matthews.

Conductor François-Xavier Roth: ‘I’m very used to modern music. I love it. I love to be close to the creation of our time. But I have to say, these workshops are very special to me. It all happens in one day: in just one day we premiere six very different works. For my brain, you can’t imagine how healthy is it. My ears feel like they are going to explode at the end of the day – it’s so stimulating.’

For more information, please CLICK HERE.


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback