We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

More in this section UG Student Staff Committee

Undergraduate Student Staff Committee


To maintain and foster communications within the Department; to consider matters of concern to staff and students; to provide a formal means of communication between the student body, Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC), and Board of Studies.


At least one ordinary meeting in each teaching term with dates published at the beginning of each academic year. An extraordinary meeting or meetings shall be called and take place within eight weekdays after written request to the Secretary by three or more members. The quorum for a meeting of the Committee shall be two third of its voting members. An inquorate meeting may continue but cannot resolve matters of substance.

Next Meetings

Wednesday 11th February 2015

Wednesday 18th March 2015

Elected student members

A minimum of one undergraduate from each year of study; one undergraduate to represent the following undergraduate programmes: single/major management, specialisms, joint economics, joint arts or languages, joint science. 

The student representatives shall be elected each year by the end of October. The nomination and election procedures shall be co-ordinated by the Undergraduate Teaching and Admissions Office of the School of Management.

Staff members

Chair: Academic Coordinator
Secretary: an administrative member elected each year from among the committee members (academic coordinators, Exchanges Coordinator, undergraduate administrators)
Student Liaison Officers: academic coordinators to liaise with the Board of Studies and Teaching and Learning Committee (TLC)
Ex officio member: Head of Department 

The Staff Liaison Officers shall ensure that all items arising from the minutes are considered at the next meeting of the School Board or appropriate sub-committee.

Action points and their progress from previous committees can be found here - Moodle login required.


Minutes of all meetings shall be kept by the elected Secretary who will copy them to each member, to the Head of Student Services and to the Students’ Union Education and Welfare Office. A copy of all minutes shall be displayed on the Student Staff Committee webpage along with details of Committee members and their contact details.

Minutes of previous meetings can be found here - Moodle login required.


Major agenda items should be sent in writing to the Secretary at least one week in advance where possible; a printed agenda for each meeting, together with any agenda papers available, shall be sent to all members and displayed on the Committee’s notice board at least two weekdays before the meeting.  

Standing invitations

There shall be standing invitations to the Head of Student Services, to the Students’ Union Welfare Officer, to the Liaison Librarian and to some representative of the Management Society to attend any or all meetings in a non-voting capacity.

Occasional invitations

Other members of the college may be invited to attend and speak on particular agenda items.

Next meetings



Wednesday 11th February 2015

Wednesday 18th March 2015




Committee Members

First Year Reps

Emily Jennings

Abul Khayyan Miah

Margarita Shestakova

Liwam Yosief Mussie

Himani Shah


Second Year Reps

Indra Pun

Sabrina Rouf

Nisarg Bhatt 


Final Year Reps

Farai Chando

Helena Wilkin

Eleonore Masson

Kenneth Chando

Staff Reps
Simon Foley (Chair)
Marianne Bowyer

Anne Lang (3rd Years) Secretary 

Taran Sanghera (2nd Years)

Maria Wright (1st Years)


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback