Professor José Fiadeiro appointed new Head of Computer Science

Posted on 11/05/2012

Professor José Fiadeiro

Professor José Fiadeiro will join Royal Holloway, University of London as the Head of the Department of Computer Science from 1 August 2012. 

Professor Fiadeiro is currently Professor of Software Science and Engineering and the Research Director for the Department of Computer Science at the University of Leicester, where he was also Head of Department for five years until July 2011. Before joining Leicester in 2002, he held visiting research positions at Imperial College, King’s College London, PUC-Rio de Janeiro, and the SRI International.

His research interests are in formal aspects of software system modelling and analysis in the context of global ubiquitous computing.

He said: “It is a very exciting opportunity to join a team of academics at Royal Holloway with a long tradition of excellence in teaching and research. I am particularly delighted to be taking on the role of Head of Department and I am looking forward to contributing towards strengthening the College's position as a leader in Computer Science."

Professor Fiadeiro completed his undergraduate degree in Mathematics at the University of Lisbon (Faculty of Science), after which he moved to the Technical University of Lisbon (Department of Mathematics, Faculty of Engineering) where he studied for a PhD. He was awarded his doctorate in 1989, and then spent three years doing research at Imperial College London with a grant from the European Commission. He became Associate Professor in Computer Science at the Technical University of Lisbon in 1992, and moved to the University of Lisbon (Department of Informatics, Faculty of Science) in 1993.

Professor Fiadeiro is a member of the Steering Committees of WS-FM (Workshop on Web Services and Formal Methods), CALCO (Conference on Algebra and Coalgebra in Computer Science, which he co-founded with Jan Rutten) and WADT (Workshop on Algebraic Development Techniques). He was chairman of the IFIP WG 1.3 (Foundations of System Specification) in 2004-09, and chairman of the Steering Committee of ETAPS (European Joint Conferences on Theory and Practice) in 2002-04.

He is also a member of the Editorial Board of Information Processing Letters (Elsevier), Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science, and Electronic Communications of the EASST (European Association of Software Science and Technology).

Royal Holloway, University of London logo