2013 Honorary Fellowships awarded

Posted on 16/05/2013

Front row left - right, Sir Andrew Burns, Dame Sarah Goad, Professor Mike Eysenck, Back row Dr Alan Mills, Professor Mike Green

Royal Holloway celebrated the outstanding contributions of five new Honorary Fellows at the annual awards ceremony on Wednesday evening, 15 May, in the Chapel.

In his opening speech, Chairman of Council Stephen Cox welcomed guests and expressed gratitude to the Honorary Members for their contribution to the life of the institution, and wished those accepting the honours fulfilment for many years to come in their association with Royal Holloway.

First to receive an Honorary Fellowship was Sir Andrew Burns KCMG, Chairman of Council 2003-2011, who was presented by Mr David Beever, former Vice-Chairman of the Council. Sir Andrew  joined the College Council in October 2003 and was Chairman of the Council from 2004 until 2011. During his Chairmanship the College grew from 6,000 to 8,500 students. He witnessed considerable development of the campus including the construction of the Windsor Building, Gowar and Wedderburn and most recently Butler, Tuke and Williamson Halls of Residence. Sir Andrew was responsible for a number of the College’s senior committees, and also chaired the selection committee for the appointment of the Principal in 2010.He hosted a number of Royal Visits to the College by HRH The Princess Royal, Chancellor of the University of London and presided over the Honorary Fellowship Ceremonies. Sir Andrew had a distinguished diplomatic career, with a strong interest in India and South Asia, China and Hong Kong, Canada, North America and the Middle East.

Professor Mike Eysenck, Head of the Department of Psychology 1987-2005 was presented by Professor Kathy Rastle from the Department of Psychology. During his 18 years of Headship of the Department of Psychology, Professor Eysenck  led the Department to many successes including the maximum score for teaching quality in the QAA audit, and a 5 rating in the 2001 Research Assessment Exercise. Under his leadership the Department grew to over 20 full time staff and it can be said that he laid the foundation for the top 10 ranking achieved in the 2008 RAE and the present position of 7th best in the country for research. Mike has made an enormous contribution to the subject of Psychology and is regarded as one of the founders of research in stress and anxiety. He has published 42 books ranging from monographs to Undergraduate and A-level textbooks and has published over 120 papers.

Dame Sarah Goad DCVO JP, Lord Lieutenant of Surrey was presented by Professor Francis Robinson CBE DL from the Department of History. Dame Sarah was appointed as the county’s Lord-Lieutenant in 1997, the first woman to hold this post in the county, and only the 5th woman in the UK to hold such a position. In the New Year Honours List 2012, she was appointed a Dame Commander of the Royal Victorian Order. Dame Sarah worked in a publishing house in London and in the family farming business, and served as a school governor in both an independent and maintained school, and as Chairman of Surrey Care Trust. She was the first Chairman of the Council at Southwark Cathedral, where she was appointed a Lay Canon in 2004. She is currently President of Surrey Magistrates’ Association..

Professor Mike Green, Dean of Science 2000-2005 and Head of the Department of Physics 1998-2000 was presented by Professor Philip Beesley, former Vice-Principal. Professor Green has an outstanding international reputation in the field of particle physics and a passion for communicating science. Mike joined the Particle Physics Group at the College as a Lecturer in 1985, rapidly progressing to Senior Lecturer, then Reader, and becoming Leader of the Group in 1993. In 1996 he established the Centre for Particle Physics and was appointed Professor in the same year. As Head of Department, Mike was responsible for ensuring the top ranking in the 2002 RAE. Under his Deanship all the Science Departments achieved the top ranking of 5.

Dr Alan Mills, Senior Medical Officer, Health Centre 1981-2011 was presented by Dr Roy Miller, former Principal of Royal Holloway College and Honorary Fellow. Dr Mills, a former Partner of the Clarence Medical Centre, worked in the College Health Centre for over 30 years. He was Senior Medical Officer for some 20 years until 2004 when he took responsibility for the Health Centre. He retired in December 2011. Over the years Alan undertook much restructuring and extension of patient care, notably in the areas of physiotherapy, psychiatry and counselling – always having foremost in mind what was best for the long-term health of students and their academic success. Alan was a member of the College’s Safety Committee and a key member of the Executive Committee for Student Appeals on Medical Grounds, against dismissal for exam failure. He was involved in many aspects of the College life, including sport, Thursday Club Dinners and College events. He continues to play an active role within the local community.

The Chapel Choir of Royal Holloway sang during the ceremony, accompanied by visiting organist and alumnus Samuel Rathbone, Assistant Director of Music, Rochester Cathedral. The event concluded with a response on behalf of the new Honorary Fellows by Sir Andrew Burns.

Following a Picture Gallery reception, invited guests attended a candlelit dinner in Founder’s Dining Hall where the Principal, Professor Paul Layzell gave his annual address, available to read here:


Royal Holloway, University of London logo