Women in Science Athena SWAN awards for Psychology and Earth Sciences

Posted on 29/04/2013

Two Royal Holloway Science departments have been given Athena SWAN awards this week, recognising their commitment to supporting the careers of women in science. The Department of Psychology have been awarded a silver award and the Department of Earth Sciences a bronze award.

The Athena SWAN Awards recognise success in developing employment practices to further and support the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) departments in higher education. A record 68 awards were presented to 35 different higher education institutions this week.

Royal Holloway set up a Women in Science Working Group in 2007. In November 2009 the College signed up to the principles in the Athena SWAN Charter and in July 2010 was awarded institutional Bronze status.

Each department in the Faculty of Science has one member of academic staff designated an “Athena Champion”.  These staff take a lead in promoting the principles of the Athena SWAN Charter within their department/school and are pivotal in developing bids for Athena SWAN status.

The Department of Physics already holds Athena SWAN silver level award as they hold  Project JUNO Champion status from the Institute of Physics.

Professor Katie Normington s who chairs the Royal Holloway Women in Science group said:

“We are delighted to receive this recognition for our Earth Sciences and Psychology Departments from Athena SWAN. Royal Holloway has a long and distinguished history of pioneering education for women and it is important that we support existing and future academic staff. There is still much work to be done to ensure that women in science are fully represented and supported.”

A formal award ceremony is being held at the Royal Society of Edinburgh in June for the successful departments. 


Royal Holloway, University of London logo