We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > English home > Information for current students > Undergraduate > EN3517 Special Author: J.M. Coetzee
More in this section ReadingLists

EN3517 Special Author: J.M. Coetzee

Course Tutor: Dr. Mark Mathuray

Summer Reading

Please try and get through as many of Coetzee’s novels as possible. These include in chronological order:

  • Dusklands (1974)
  • In the Heart of the Country (1977)
  • Waiting for the Barbarians (1980)
  • Life & Times of Michael K (1983)
  • Foe (1986)
  • Age of Iron (1990)
  • The Master of Petersburg (1994)
  • The Lives of Animals (1999)
  • Disgrace (1999)
  • Elizabeth Costello (2003)
  • Slow Man (2005)
  • Diary of a Bad Year (2007)
  • The Childhood of Jesus (2013)

For a brief introduction to his work, read Dominic Head’s The Cambridge Introduction to J.M. Coetzee.  Also, please consult the course outline on moodle for a comprehensive reading list.



Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback