We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Earth Sciences home > Awards & Bursaries > Awards and Bursaries - Earth Sciences
More in this section Awards & Bursaries

Awards and Bursaries - Earth Sciences

The Department of Earth Sciences offers a variety of awards and bursaries to both undergraduate and postgraduate students. 

Kirsty Brown Memorial Fund Lyell Scholarships
Jon Wright Memorial Prize Frank Barker Award
Undergraduate Prizes


Lyell Work-Experience and Research Scholarships

From September 2012, the Department of Earth Sciences will award a number of annual “Lyell Scholarships” for students registered for a BSc or MSci degree in the Department. The Lyell Scholarships, worth up to £1000, are maintenance payments for students who wish to gain work-experience or research-experience over the summer break at the end of the second (BSc) or third (MSci) year of study. The work-experience or research will be conducted in the Department of Earth Sciences or at the premises of one of our many Industry partners. Members of staff will propose projects for which students may apply. Up to 10 scholarships will be awarded each summer on a competitive basis.

The scheme is named in honour of Sir Charles Lyell, one of the founders of the science of Geology, who was appointed as the first Professor of Geology at King’s College London in 1830. He was, therefore, instrumental in establishing one of the Geology departments that was later to form the Department of Earth Sciences at Royal Holloway University of London, in 1985.


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback