We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Earth Sciences home > Awards & Bursaries > Awards and Bursaries - Earth Sciences
More in this section Awards & Bursaries

Awards and Bursaries - Earth Sciences

The Department of Earth Sciences offers a variety of awards and bursaries to both undergraduate and postgraduate students. 

Kirsty Brown Memorial Fund Lyell Scholarships
Jon Wright Memorial Prize Frank Barker Award
Undergraduate Prizes


The Borrowdale Trophy is the tangible expression of the Jon Wright Memorial Prize, set up to commemorate the life of Final Year student Jon Wright who died in November 1995. Jon had completed his independent field mapping project in the Lake District earlier in the year. Consequently, he was awarded a First Class Honours BSc Degree in Geochemistry by the University of London.

The Borrowdale Trophy is a specimen of green tuff of the Borrowdale Volcanic Series, collected from a quarry within the area that Jon mapped. It is awarded annually to the undergraduate who has made most progress in geology through fieldwork in the second year.


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback