We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Drama and Theatre home > Events & Productions > Jonathan Burrows and Matteo Fargion will perform Cheap Lecture and extracts from their new production
More in this section 2010/11

Jonathan Burrows and Matteo Fargion will perform Cheap Lecture and extracts from their new production

09/06/2011 (12:30-14:00)
Johanna Pursey

This event is hosted by the ‘Bodies, Objects and Performance Practices Research Group’.

Jonathan Burrows and Matteo Fargion will perform Cheap Lecture

and extracts from their new production

We are delighted to welcome Jonathan (choreographer) and Matteo (Composer) back to the Boilerhouse to perform their recent duet Cheap Lecture along with extracts from their new piece that will be premiering in July. They would like to talk to us afterwards about both pieces and would welcome comments on the new piece as they go into the final stages of making it. They have performed several times in the last few years at Royal Holloway and Jonathan was awarded an honorary doctorate from the college last year.

If you do not know their work, pasted below are their biographies, together with a link to Jonathan’s newsletter for more up to date information. They combine music and dance composition in a most extraordinary way and with their lively and humorous delivery combined with rigorous attention to detail a treat is in store…

When: Thursday 9th June   - 12.30 – 2.00pm

Where: The Boilerhouse Theatre, Royal Holloway main campus

Attendance is free but please reserve a ticket through Johanna Pursey as the number of seats are limited.

An extract from Jonathan’s newsletter detailing work with Matteo. The link to full info is below.

… a series of duets with Matteo Fargion, beginning in 2002 with Both Sitting Duet, followed by The Quiet Dance (2005), Speaking Dance (2006), Cheap Lecture (2009) and The Cow Piece (2009). The two men have now given over 200 performances across Belgium, Germany, UK, Canada, Japan, Portugal, Italy, Austria, France, Sweden, Norway, Switzerland, Spain, Croatia, Ireland, USA, Finland, Lithuania, Brazil, Latvia, Estonia, Poland, South Korea, Greece, Romania, Hungary, Turkey and Australia. Both Sitting Duet won a 2004 New York Dance and Performance 'Bessie' Award, and Cheap Lecture was chosen for the prestigious 2009 Het Theaterfestival in Belgium. www.jonathanburrows.info.

Jonathan Burrows was born in 1960.  He started his career as a soloist with the Royal Ballet in London, but formed the Jonathan Burrows Group in 1988 to present his own work.  The company travelled widely and gained an international reputation with pieces such as ‘Stoics’ (1991), ‘Very’ (1992), ‘Our’ (1994), ‘The Stop Quartet’ (1996) and ‘Things I Don’t Know’ (1997).  In 2001 he presented ‘Weak Dance Strong Questions’, a collaboration with the Dutch theatre director Jan Ritsema, followed in 2002 by ‘Both Sitting Duet’ with the composer Matteo Fargion.  These pieces toured to 14 and 17 countries respectively, including Brazil, Canada, Japan and the USA.  Since then he has worked again with Matteo Fargion on ‘The Quiet Dance’, which opened in Munich in 2005 and began its touring in Brussels and London.  Other high profile collaborators include Sylvie Guillem’s performance of his choreography in Adam Robert’s film ‘Blue Yellow’ in 1996, and his invitation in 1997 to choreograph for William Forsythe’s Ballet Frankfurt.  He was an associate artist 1992- 2002 at Kunstencentrum Vooruit in Gent, Belgium, and was Artist-In-Residence at London’s South Bank Centre 1998/9.  In 2002 Jonathan was given an award by the Foundation for Contemporary Performance Arts In New York in recognition for his ongoing contributions to contemporary dance.  ‘Both Sitting Duet’ was the winner of a 2004 New York Dance and Performance “Bessie” Award.

Matteo Fargion was born in Milan, Italy in 1961.  He studied composition with Kevin Volans at the University of Natal, South Africa, and later with Howard Skempton in London.  He met Jonathan Burrows in 1988, and has since written music for many of his pieces, including ‘Dull Morning’, ‘Stoics’, ‘Very’, ‘Our’, ‘Hands’, ‘The Stop Quartet’ (with Kevin Volans) and ‘Things I Don't Know’, in which he also performed ‘Donna Che Beve’ for 3 amplified cardboard boxes.  Matteo has also written music for theatre including an oratorio (‘Das Kontingent’) commissioned by and performed at the Schaubühne Berlin and TAT Frankfurt, a chamber opera (‘Le Bellezze d’Hortensia’) at the Theaterhaus in Stuttgart, as well as incidental music for many productions at the Residenz Theater Munich. In 2004 he wrote music for Thomas Ostermeier’s prize winning production of Jon Fosse's new play ‘The Girl on the Sofa’ shown at the Edinburgh International Festival, and in 2005 he collaborated and performed in Canadian choreographer Lynda Gaudreau’s ‘Document 4’ in Gent, Belgium.  His piece ‘Duets’, written in collaboration with Kevin Volans, is released on Black Box Records. Matteo also runs composition workshops at PARTS, the school of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker in Brussels.


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback