We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Computer Science home > Prizes and Awards
More in this section Prizes and Awards

Prizes and Awards

We are very proud of all the prizes and awards won by our students and our staff, and by the Department:


  • In 2013, we received an  Athena SWAN Bronze Award in recognition of our commitment to increasing the participation of women in Computer Science at all levels, from undergraduate students to the highest academic roles.
  • The 2014 BCS Accreditation Visit Panel identified our teaching of Software Engineering as an area of best practice.
  • Awarded 'Department of the Year' by the Student Union for having the most engaging and outstanding student representatives in the academic year 2014/15.
  • Awarded 'Outstanding Department' by the Disability & Dyslexia Services for playing a pivotal role in improving accessibility to disabled and dyslexic students.


Departmental awards

We award prizes and give out commendation letters to our best students:

External awards

Computing Society

Our student Computing Society has also won multiple awards:

  • 2014/15 RHSU Society of the Year Award 
  • 2014/15 RHSU Skills and Employability Cup 
  • Community Action's volunteering group of the year 2015, Runnymede Volunteer Awards
  • 2017/18 RHSU Best Event ( Royal Hackway)


  • Dr Johannes Kinder received a Google Award in 2016
  • Dr Gregory Chockler received a Facebook Faculty Award in 2016
  • Professor Dave Cohen, Dr Johannes Kinder and Dr Carlos Matos were awarded a College Team Teaching Prize in 2015
  • Mr Nuno Barreiro and Dr Carlos Matos received a College Teaching Initiative Award in 2014
  • Professor Dave Cohen received a College Teaching Fellowship Award in 2014
  • Professor Gregory Gutin received a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award (2014-19)
  • Professor Dave Cohen was awarded one of the 2012/13 Teaching Excellence Prize and was shortlisted for the Times Higher Most Innovative Teacher Award 
  • Dr Matthew Hague was awarded a five-year EPSRC Fellowship (2013-2018)
  • Dr Robin Adams won 2011/12 Apple for the Teacher award
  • Professor Vladimir Vapnik was awarded the 2012 Benjamin Franklin medal in Computer and Cognitive Science from the Franklin Institute

 AS_RGB_Bronze Award


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback