We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > Alumni home > Our alumni > Notable alumni > Professor Michael Rowan-Robinson FInstP (1942-)
More in this section Physics

Professor Michael Rowan-Robinson FInstP (1942-)

Posted on 01/08/2012

MSc Geology & Astrophysics, 1966; PhD Geology & Astrophysics, 1969 Royal Holloway College

The astronomer Michael Rowan-Robinson is Professor of Astrophysics at Imperial College, where he led the Astrophysics Group. He has also been President of the Royal Astronomical Society. Michael has been involved with the joint US, UK and Dutch Infrared Astronomical Satellite since 1977 and with the joint European Space Agency (ESA), NASA and ISIS (Japanese space agency) Infrared Space Observatory. He is a committee member of ESA's scientific missions and of the Hubble Space Telescope project. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics and of the Royal Astronomical Society. He was awarded the 2008 Hoyle Medal by the Institute of Physics for his pioneering research in infrared and submillimetre astronomy, and observational cosmology.


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback