We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

Home > About us home > Our campus > Our estate plan > Current projects > Name our science building
More in this section Current projects

Name our science building

Our new science building will be a high quality, technology led-space available for all students and staff. It will have a 268 seat state-of-the-art lecture theatre, multi-functional seminar rooms, flexible laboratories and creative and collaborative areas. It will also be home to our Department of  Department of Electronic Engineering.

Last year, our students and staff made suggestions for who the building should be named after and as a result we had a short list of four names.  In February students and staff shared which of the four were their favourites.  The chance to submit preferences closed on the 15 February.  College Council will now make the final decision on who the building will be named after and an official announcement will be made before construction is complete late spring 2018.

Beatrice Shilling, 1909   1990

Beatrice Shilling Green Hue

A British aeronautical engineer and motor racer

Elizabeth Blackwell, 1821 – 1910

Elizabeth Blackwell Purple Hue

The first female doctor in the western world

Katherine Lonsdale, 1907 – 1971

Kathleeen Lonsdale Grey Hue

A pioneering crystallographer

Rosalind Franklin, 1920 – 1958

Rosalind Franklin Orange Hue

A biophysicist, physicist, chemist, biologist and X-ray crystallographer



Please get in touch with the Internal Communications team


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback