We use cookies on this site. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Close this message Find out more

More in this section Organisation of the College


Our academic departments are divided into three faculties, all of which have a Dean at their head.

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences contains a unique combination of creative arts and humanities disciplines.

Our impressive range of academic resources, stimulating research, cultural opportunities and links with creative industries provides a dynamic platform for developing the talents of a vibrant community of staff and students from around the world.

Faculty information and contacts

Scholars within the faculty are world-class researchers, and this expertise is used within their teaching. It is possible to study for either single subject degrees or a combination of joint degrees across the faculty.

The departments frequently review the courses on offer to ensure that their curricula are innovative. Optional units allow for students to develop particular strengths and to be taught by experts within the field. 

If you are interested in joining the Faculty as a research student or member of staff, you may like to browse our research support page for a taste of some of the ways in which the Faculty supports researchers.

Professor James Knowles (Dean of Faculty)



Dean of Arts and Social Sciences: Professor James Knowles

(For appointments please call 01784 276318)

Associate Dean  (Research): Daniela Berghahn

Associate Dean (Education): Richard Hawley

Assistant Registrar: Merlin Harries

Marketing Manager: Neil Perrott



Faculty of Management, Economics and Law

The dynamic Faculty of Management, Economics and Law at Royal Holloway provides an influential platform for first class research, teaching and consultancy.

Our ethos is built around our commitment to furthering knowledge at undergraduate and postgraduate level, stimulated by original research and effective collaborations with local and international businesses, governments and public services. 

Faculty information and contacts


We aim to provide an understanding of the modern world and equip students with the skills necessary to succeed in the careers of the future.  Our diverse programmes of undergraduate and postgraduate study are taught by world-class researchers and experts within the field.

The Department of Economics is seventh in the UK for world-leading research, while the School of Management is 24th for world-leading and internationally excellent research, following the Research Excellence Framework (REF) 2014.

Professor Bob O'Keefe (Dean of Faculty and Vice Principal for External Engagement)



Dean of Management  and Economics: Professor Bob O'Keefe 

(For appointments please email: Alexandra Dillaway (maternity cover)  or call 01784 276318)

Associate Dean (Research): Professor Laura Spence

Associate Dean (Education): Niran Subramaniam

Assistant Registrar: Noreen Naughton

Communications Manager: Helen Bacci


Faculty of Science

Royal Holloway is one of the major colleges in which the University of London has chosen to concentrate its science teaching and research. This is reflected by the Science Faculty's excellent results in the Government's teaching and research assessment exercises and in the calibre of our students, staff and cutting-edge research activities.

Faculty information and contacts


On the basis of world-leading and internationally excellent research (4* and 3* standard) four of the departments in the Faculty of Science achieved top five rankings for their discipline across all universities in the UK in the Research Excellence Framework (REF) 2014.

In all areas of our research we aim to advance knowledge and its application to improve the quality of life. We believe that a dynamic research environment is essential in maintaining academic excellence at all levels and this provides a very strong base for further research growth.

Royal Holloway has had success in achieving a greater proportion of women in its Science Faculty than the national average and holds a Bronze Athena SWAN award which recognises our commitment to advancing women's careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) in higher education.

Professor Paul Hogg (Dean of Faculty and Vice Principal for Research & Enterprise)


Dean of Science:  Professor Paul Hogg

(For appointments please call 01784 276171)

Associate Dean (Education) : James McEvoy

Associate Dean (Research) Tamar Pincus

Assistant Registrar:  Clare Munton

Marketing Manager: Anne Uttley



Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback