Home > About us home > News and events > News > Academic wins prestigious European award
More in this section News articles

Academic wins prestigious European award

Posted on 18/07/2012

Dr Claudio Castelnovo, from the Department of Physics at Royal Holloway, University of London, has been awarded the 2012 Europhysics Prize.

This is one of Europe’s most prestigious prizes for condensed matter physics and is awarded every two years by the European Physics Society Condensed Matter Division.

Dr Castelnovo shares the prize with five others for the prediction and experimental observation of magnetic monopoles in spin ice. Magnetic monopoles are particles that are proposed to carry a single magnetic pole, either a magnetic north pole or south pole which is quite exceptional because magnetic particles are usually observed as dipoles, north and south combined.

Dr Castelnovo, said: “It goes without saying that I am very pleased to receive this prize, shared with such outstanding colleagues and friends. The list of former prize recipients is exceedingly impressive and I am most honoured to become part of it.

“Since our theoretical proposal in early 2008, the concept of emergent magnetic monopoles in spin ice has contributed, both directly and indirectly, to an extensive scientific effort that lead, in my opinion, to a significant advancement in the field of frustrated magnetism. I am proud of this result and it is very rewarding to see it recognised at an international level.”

The Prize will be presented at the forthcoming EPS CMD General Conference in Edinburgh on 5 September 2012.


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback