Home > About us home > News and events > News > 2012 Honorary Fellows announced
More in this section News articles

2012 Honorary Fellows announced

Posted on 17/05/2012

Royal Holloway, University of London welcomed five new Honorary Fellows last night (Wednesday 16 May).

The Baroness Ashton of Upholland, David Beever, Sophie Christiansen MBE, Máire Davies and Sarah Fox were all inducted as Honorary Fellows at a special awards ceremony at the College.

The title is awarded to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the life and work of the College or to the cause of education generally.

Cathy Ashton, a Bedford College alumna who studied Social Sciences, has been Europe’s first High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security and Vice-President of The European Commission since November 2009. She replaced Lord Mandelson as EU Trade Commissioner in 2008, having previously been a member of Gordon Brown’s cabinet as leader of the House of Lords.

David Beever joined the College Council as a lay member in 1995 and was appointed Vice-chairman in 2005. During his time on Council , David served on several College committees including the Strategic Policy Committee and Council Executive. He was Chairman of the Finance Committee from 1998 until 2005.

Sophie Christiansen is a Royal Holloway Mathematics alumna and a paralympic equestrian. She was selected for the Athens Paralympic Games in 2004 as the youngest rider at the age of 16 and won a Bronze medal. In 2008 at the Paralympic Games in Beijing, Sophie won two Gold and one Silver medal. She is currently waiting to hear if she has secured a place in the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Máire Davies, another Royal Holloway alumna, remained at the College after reading German, first as a PhD student and from 1983 as a member of staff. She served as Head of Department from 1996-2001 and as Dean of Arts from 2002-2007. She became Director of Special Projects in January 2008 adding the role of Acting Dean later that year.

Sarah Fox, also a Royal Holloway alumna, is a soprano of international standing. She enjoys an established relationship with the Royal Opera House and her other engagements include English National Opera, the Royal Danish Opera and Deutshe Oper Berlin. In November 2010 Sarah, together with Susan Bullock and Dame Felicity Lott, took part in the Silver Jubilee Celebratory Concert at the College, marking 25 years since the merger of Bedford College and Royal Holloway.

As well as welcoming the new Honorary Fellows, Professor Paul Layzell, Principal of Royal Holloway, looked back at notable events during the academic year in his speech to guests, highlighting achievements and paying tribute to staff across the College for their important and valued role.

Read Professor Layzell’s speech in full.


Comment on this page

Did you find the information you were looking for? Is there a broken link or content that needs updating? Let us know so we can improve the page.

Note: If you need further information or have a question that cannot be satisfied by this page, please call our switchboard on +44 (0)1784 434455.

This window will close when you submit your comment.

Add Your Feedback